Oak Department


Oak Department


The oak department consists of five classes. Three classes are for pupils that require additional support and two classes are for pupils with profound and multiple learning difficulties.


Additional support


The additional support classes provide a supportive, engaging and positive learning environment for pupils that have additional needs related to complex medical difficulties, autistic spectrum disorder, challenging behaviour or sensory impairment.


Each class has a small number of pupils with a high staff pupil ratio, to provide the pupils with the additional support and high intensity programme which they require. There are many opportunities provided for pupils that require more structure and support to help them manage and cope with day to day situations.


The classes follow a differentiated curriculum that is tailored to suit each pupil’s individualised learning needs. There is a strong focus on functional literacy and numeracy together with programmes in social and life skills. 




Learners with profound and multiple learning difficulties (PMLD) have complex learning needs. In addition to their severe learning difficulties, they may have other significant difficulties, such as physical disabilities, sensory impairment or a severe medical condition.


In the two PMLD classes staff care for and teach the pupils using a nurturing, holistic and child-centred approach. The pupils have access to a carefully planned, highly differentiated and well resourced curriculum which is assessed using ‘Quest for learning’, a bespoke assessment tool.

The PMLD curriculum is structured under four headings- communication, cognition, physical development and  personal and social development.




Areas of learning


  1. Responding
  2. Interacting
  3.  Communicating




  1. Awareness of stimuli
  2. Exploration
  3.  Control and Early Problem Solving
  4. Sequence and Pattern


Physical development

  1. Body awareness
  2. Fine motor movement
  3. Gross motor movement
  4. Mobility


Personal and social development


  1. Self awareness- personal care and independence
  2. Personal health
  3. Relationships